> BASIC HTPC BUILD ADVICE
MSIINOZ
Posted: Jan 25 2012, 05:19 AM
Quote Post

HTPCF Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 9,664

Hi All
This is my first post, I will start a thread in the HTPC Projects section to show my personal HTPC's

A friend of a friend showed me (the basics, Assembly) how to build my firt PC and now I have been building PC's for going on 6-7 (I think...) years and have only built about 7 PC's in that time, In the recent years (approx 3) I have got into HTPC's
I dont have very much knowledge in regards to the finer workings of a computer, Thats why Im here asking for advice/opinions, Im actually a Welder/Automotive exhasut fitter & restore & build custom motorbikes but it maybe time for a career change?

Im looking for advice in regards to building a basic HTPC on a budget, Considering the HTPC is used for watching HD/BLU-RAY movies etc and not performing 10 different tasks at once or doing really high load tasks

I would like to know what parts need to be high performers and what can be sacrificed to save some money?
Basically should a HTPC have an all out super dooper Graphics card or focus on a high end CPU with lots of cores like the X6 and newer bulldozer X8's etc? Is huge RAM capacity really needed for a HTPC?

I have started to put together a few HTPC's for friends & family and want to know what exactly I need to focus on to obtain good performance from a HTPC
Is it a balancing act? Do all the parts need to be of the same level for the whole system to perform well, Having high end parts and some low end parts I imagine would bring the whole system performance down creating whats known as a bottleneck

Here is a system I built recently using all brand new parts (As an example)>

Mobo ASROCK 880GMH-LE USB3

CPU AMD ATHLON X2 260 3.2Ghz

RAM CORSAIR 4gb XMS3

VGA MSI N430GT DDR3 1GB

HARDDRIVE SEAGATE BARRA 500GB

LG CD BURNER

LOGITECH MK260 10M RANGE WIRELESS KEYBOARD & MOUSE

PSU AEROCOOLER 550W

CASE AEROCOOLER VS9